top of page
  • Writer's pictureMLE Perzan

One year in London, Many More to Come

Updated: Jan 4, 2022


In September 2020 in the middle of the pandemic and a lockdown in London UK I loved to the city of my dreams. I Moved to london to start my Masters. I never thought I would get a Masters but I promised myself if I ever went back to school I would go for personal growth and to a top ranked school.

I only applied to the best schools in the UK. I applied to LAMDA, RADA, and Royal Conservatory of Scotland. After being waitlisted at the Royal Conservatory for a masters in Musical Theatre, and accepted at RADA for a masters in Text and Performance, I decided that I wanted to broaden my skill set and accepted the masters program at RADA. Founded in 1904 RADA is a staple of actor training in London. "The Royal Patron of the school is Queen Elizabeth II. The President is Sir Kenneth Branagh, who succeeded Richard, Lord Attenborough, following his death in 2014. The Chairman is Marcus Ryder MBE,[1] who succeeded Sir Stephen Waley-Cohen in 2021. Its Vice-Chairman was Alan Rickman until his death in 2016." Being among such greats that have trained at the school it was a wonderful honor to be accepted and to attend their masters program.

Moving to London for my masters in the middle of the pandemic was dificult. All of my classes were online and although I made life long friendships with my classmates I know that my mental health struggled while doing school work in my tiny flat. I moved in Kentishtown into Stay Club which from online looks like a student accomidations, but 80% of the people that live in the building are asylum seekers. The building was covred in details everywhere you looked from intricae paintings on each floor, to interesting details made out of metal in the common spaces. A glowing building that seemed full of fun (with its own movie theatre) and yet thats where the excitment stopped. My room was compact but great to have my own bathroom and kitchen. However the smells, noises, and lifts always being broken made for a horrible experiance. I would never recommend anyone more to the building unles they want to do a photoshoot, or film something cause cool spaces wear off when there are so many maintence issues you have to deal with.

Living in loackdown and doing all my classes online taught me a lot about myself. I learned to live in small spaces and make my wardrobe smaller than ever before (sounds vain but I like having options). I learned to self sooth with wriing journal entries nightly as well as I found my love for writing music.

In the spring semester of school I took a writing class and wrote my first musical. A 100 page including lyrics, 23 songs, full musical. I am so proud of what I acomplished but my fear so far in being rejected again has stopped me from submitting it to the world. I love this piece of art that I created and my teacher loved it as well. Since writing my first musical I have writen one more and now working on my third. I will keep creating and one day find that strength to let the world hear my work. I am so greatful for many of my tutors at RADA who inspired me to keep growing and taught me so many valuble lessons. Without, Tom, Dan, Paul, and Jay I am not sure I would have finished my Masters with all the support and wonderful knowlage that I have. I am so greatful for these four tutors as well as my classmates who were in my film and supported me in all my crazy creative ideas!

For my disertation I wrote, filmed, edited, wrote the music, and did everything except act in the film. I worked over 500 hours on the film, dedicating my life to the project and yet I only got a merit. I did more work than half of the people on my corse and yet it wasn't good enough for my tutor. I have submitted the film to festivals and although I recvied my first rejection yesterday from a festival I dont think it is the end of the life for the film. I put all of my life on hold, all my energy into the film, and I know its not perfect but it is my baby. I am greatful for taking all my masters classes online cause if that hadn't been the case I woudlnt have learned about how uch I enjoy film. Editing film is my new passion and I hope to contiune doing more film work on and off camera in the future.

I am still learning about London. For seven months I dated a man from London and we went on lots of walks and day trips around the UK howver when I ask someone "where do you live?" and they resepond with a part of London or city around the UK my first thought is to google maps the city, cause I have no idea where anything is. I look forward to living in London for atleast another two years on my graduate visa so I can learn more about this amazing country and the history within in.

I love the history in England and Europe. Hopefully at some point covid will calm down and I can spend time train around Europe. It is right at my door step and there are so many places that I would like to explore. I have a list two pages long of place in the world that I want to visit and keep adding to it everyday. History has been one of my favorite subjects to study and learn about (not american history). Arcitecture is so facinating as well as the art works that have been created by artists around Europe I can wait to explore them all!

I got an agent! London theatre scene watch out! Here comes a hard working dedicated actress married to the stage and her work and I hope that my agent will help me along the path to make all ym dreams come true!

Although still living the single life in London, I love my new flat, love my new job at Royal Drury Lane Theatre, the few little shows I have done in London; and the protential future excitment that is around the corner from my doorstep.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page